September 28 to October 7, 2018

Preview

r5
r4
r1
r2
r3

Robert Sochacki: My Grandmother’s Family Picture. Context-spezific Intervention. LICHTROUTENE PREVIEW 2018. Photos: Robert Sochacki.

For the architectural projection on the “Erlöserkirche” Robert Sochacki uses a selection of images from his personal collection as well as from the Lüdenscheid town archive. Images from the Middle Ages include images of Count Engelbert and Saint Medardus; photographs of materials and tools as well as of everyday situations in public life are taken from the history of crafts and industry in Lüdenscheid; moving images of people in urban space originate from the present. The tower and nave are the projection surface of the continuously changing tableau.

Large-format façade projections have become a focal point of Robert Sochacki’s artistic work. He studied painting at the Academy of Fine Arts in Gdansk and later worked as a stage designer and VJ. In his work as a visual artist, he is currently concentrating on performative imagery, which he calls “video painting”. He has just completed his doctorate in art in public space at the Academy of Fine Arts Gdansk (pl).

His projections are montages that bring analog and digital, historical and contemporary imagery into play. They are not static but continuously changing so that the building’s envelope and the image contents develop constantly new visual links. Since 1997 he has been regularly present in exhibitions and projects. In 2010 he realized his first large-format architectural projection as part of the NARRACJE exhibition project in his hometown Gdansk (pl).

Robert Sochacki. SEE DJERBA Houmt Souk 2017. Photo Brahim Guedich (28)
Robert Sochacki. SEE DJERBA Houmt Souk 2017. Photo Brahim Guedich (26)
Robert Sochacki. SEE DJERBA Houmt Souk 2017. Photo Brahim Guedich (1)
Robert Sochacki. SEE DJERBA Houmt Souk 2017. Photo Brahim Guedich (4)
Robert Sochacki. SEE DJERBA Houmt Souk 2017. Photo Brahim Guedich (3)
Robert Sochacki. SEE DJERBA Houmt Souk 2017. Photo Brahim Guedich (21)
Robert Sochacki. SEE DJERBA Houmt Souk 2017. Photo Brahim Guedich (22)
Robert Sochacki. SEE DJERBA Houmt Souk 2017. Photo Brahim Guedich (8)
Robert Sochacki. SEE DJERBA Houmt Souk 2017. Photo Brahim Guedich (18)
Robert Sochacki. SEE DJERBA Houmt Souk 2017. Photo Brahim Guedich (19)
Robert Sochacki. SEE DJERBA Houmt Souk 2017. Photo Brahim Guedich (12)
Robert Sochacki. SEE DJERBA Houmt Souk 2017. Photo Brahim Guedich (11)
Robert Sochacki. SEE DJERBA Houmt Souk 2017. Photo Brahim Guedich (16)
Robert Sochacki. SEE DJERBA Houmt Souk 2017. Photo Brahim Guedich (20)
Robert Sochacki. SEE DJERBA Houmt Souk 2017. Photo Brahim Guedich (10)
Robert Sochacki. SEE DJERBA Houmt Souk 2017. Photo Brahim Guedich (13)
LichtRouten Luedenscheid 2013, Robert Sochacki, Photo Jennifer Braun
Robert Sochacki I EVI LICHTUNGEN Hildesheim 2018 l Foto Jennifer Braun (1)
Robert Sochacki I EVI LICHTUNGEN Hildesheim 2018 l Foto Jennifer Braun (5)
Robert Sochacki I EVI LICHTUNGEN Hildesheim 2018 l Foto Jennifer Braun (8)
Robert Sochacki I EVI LICHTUNGEN Hildesheim 2018 l Foto Jennifer Braun (11)
Robert Sochacki I EVI LICHTUNGEN Hildesheim 2018 l Foto Jennifer Braun (6)
Robert Sochacki I EVI LICHTUNGEN Hildesheim 2018 l Foto Jennifer Braun (3)
Robert Sochacki I EVI LICHTUNGEN Hildesheim 2018 l Foto Jennifer Braun (10)
Robert Sochacki I EVI LICHTUNGEN Hildesheim 2018 l Foto Jennifer Braun (2)
Robert Sochacki I EVI LICHTUNGEN Hildesheim 2018 l Foto Jennifer Braun (12)
Robert Sochacki I EVI LICHTUNGEN Hildesheim 2018 l Foto Jennifer Braun (9)

Referential Works 2013 – 2018 _ Photos: Jennifer Braun, Brahim Guedich

Now he follows the invitation of the LICHTROUTEN curators Bettina Pelz and Tom Groll to develop a new city intervention for Lüdenscheid at the beginning of the city’s anniversary celebration. With the “Erlöserkriche”, the oldest building of the city becomes the canvas to stage a kaleidoscope of the city’s history. “I find it great to work site-specifically because I spend time in a special environment. I see myself as a guest here. For me, the inhabitants of the city are the owners and I am a guest who tells stories. This is also a bit like in the Middle Ages when singers went through the cities and told their stories on the market square….. I had a wonderful experience during the SEE DJERBA project in Houmt El Souk: I sat on a carpet and used it as a work surface or desk and worked in public space.” _ he explained in an interview with Jule Kriesel (Link). Like a “Minstrel” Robert Sochacki develops his tableau for Luedenscheid. “Minne Songs” are a ritualized form of the sung love lyrics of the 12th and 13th century and the term “Minne” from Middle High German can be translated as “loving remembrance”. Although the “Minne Songs” thematically refer mainly to the worship of noble women, they are not love songs in the closer sense. The special features of this poetry are the sophisticated rhymes, the complex imagery, and the well-thought-out structure. This is also how Robert Sochacki’s way of working can be read: He combines art-historical knowledge and local stories, aesthetic peculiarities and poetic art forms, complex technology and tailor-made codings and his own view of complex pictorial structures, in which the found place plays the leading role.

The “Erlöserkirche” stands in the center of the old town and was first mentioned in a document in 1072. Over the centuries it has undergone many renovations and modifications, and only the tower of the “Erlöserkirche” is preserved from the 11th century. The tower shaft is secured by 180 iron anchors in the facade which are as well the only design feature of the façade. “The tower is a witness to the town’s history and I play with its memory,” said Robert Sochacki in the course of the preparations in conversation with Tom Groll. Similar to the metaphor of memory, his way of working can also be explained:  Memory is a complex system in which information and experience become memories. They form a network of information that is linked by engrams. Depending on their use, these routes of communication can become stronger and weaker and change continuously. Similarly, the montages by Robert Sochacki are based on the available pool of images and information and show them as variable _ in color, form, and format and in their relationships to each other.

Robert Sochacki has already been to LICHTROUTEN in Lüdenscheid once before. His work at the Wiedenhof was one of the three most popular LICHTROUTEN installations in 2013 (link). The large format, the colorfulness and the fantastic picture worlds made him a darling of the public. Now he is invited to Lüdenscheid for a second time to realize a new, site-specific intervention. This time not in the context of the LICHTROUTEN, but as a solitaire for the celebration of the city’s jubilee.

(Text: Bettina Pelz. March 5, 2018)

March 28 to 30, 2018

Robert Sochacki develops a large-format architectural projection for the “Erlöserkirche”. It will be on view from 28 to 30 April 2018 from approx. 9 pm to Midnight.

For his interventions for exhibitions, stages and public spaces, Robert Sochacki combines drawing and painting, photography and videography and animation. He develops large-format murals that make the location and its architecture part of a multimedia collage. MORE

Selected Exhibitions

2018 | Hildesheim (de), EVI LICHTUNGEN
2017 | Houmt El Souk (tn), SEE DJERBA
2015 | Katowice (pl), TAURON NOWA MUZYKA
2013 | Lima (pe), LA NOCHE EN BLANCO
Since 1997 | Regular exhibition activity, mainly in Europe

Background

2018 | Gdansk (pl), AKADEMY OF FINE ART, Conferral of a Doctorate
1991-1997 | Gdansk (pl), AKADEMIE OF FINE ART, Studies of Fine Art
1971 | born in Gdansk (pl)
MORE

Links

sochacki.art.pl
Facebook

28. September bis 7. Oktober 2018

Preview

r5
r4
r1
r2
r3

Robert Sochacki: My Grandmother’s Family Picture. Kontext-spezifische Intervention. LICHTROUTENE PREVIEW 2018. Photos: Robert Sochacki.

Für die Architektur-Projektion auf die Erlöserkirche verwendet Robert Sochacki eine Auswahl von Bildmaterial aus seinem persönlichen Fundus wie aus dem Stadtarchiv Lüdenscheids. Bildmaterial aus dem Mittelalter zeigt u.a. Abbildungen des Grafen Engelbert und des Heiligen Medardus; aus der Handwerks- und Industriegeschichte Lüdenscheids stammen Fotografien von Materialien und Werkzeugen ebenso wie von alltäglichen Situationen im öffentlichen Leben; aus der Gegenwart stammen bewegte Aufnahmen von Menschen im Stadtraum. Turm und Kirchenschiff sind Projektionsfläche des sich kontinuierlich wandelnden Tableaus.

28. bis 30. April 2018, ab Sonnenuntergang
Erlöserkirche, Kirchplatz 11, 58511 Lüdenscheid

Großformatige Fassadenprojektionen sind zu einem Schwerpunkt der künstlerischen Arbeit von Robert Sochacki geworden. Er hat Malerei an der Kunsthochschule in Danzig studiert und später als Bühnenbildner und VJ gearbeitet. Gegenwärtig konzentriert er sich in seiner Arbeit als bildender Künstler auf performative Bildwelten, die er „Video-Malerei“ nennt. Gerade hat er seine Promotion zu Kunst im öffentlich Raum an der Kunstakademie Danzig erfolgreich abgeschlossen.

Seine Projektionen sind Montagen, die analoge und digitale, historische und zeitgenössische Bildwerke mit einander ins Spiel bringen. Sie sind nicht statisch, sondern verändern sich fortwährend, so dass Gebäudehülle und Bildinhalte vor den Augen der Zuschauer_innen immer neue Verbindungen eingehen. Seit 1997 ist er regelmäßig in Ausstellung und Projekten präsent, 2010 realisierte er seine erste großformatige Architekturprojektion im Rahmen des Ausstellungsprojektes NARRACJE in seiner Heimatstadt Danzig (pl).

Jetzt folgt er der Einladung der LICHTROUTEN-Kurator_innen Bettina Pelz und Tom Groll, um zum Auftakt des Stadtjubiläums eine neue Stadtintervention für Lüdenscheid zu entwickeln. Mit der Erlöserkirche wird das älteste Gebäude der Stadt wird zur Leinwand, um ein Kaleidoskop der Stadtgeschichte zusammenzutragen. „Ich finde es großartig ort-spezifisch zu arbeiten, da man viel Zeit an einem ausgesuchten Ort verbringt. Ich sehe mich hier als Gast. So sind für mich die Bewohner der Stadt die Besitzer und ich, bin ein Gast, der Geschichten erzählt. Das ist auch ein bisschen wie im Mittelalter, wenn Sänger durch die Städte zogen und auf dem Marktplatz ihre Geschichten vortrugen … . Ich machte eine wunderbare Erfahrung während des SEE DJERBA Projektes in Houmt El Souk: Ich saß auf einem Teppich, und benutzte diesen als Arbeitsfläche oder Schreibtisch und arbeitete im öffentlichen Raum.“ _ sagte er in einem Interview mit Jule Kriesel (Link) Wie ein „Minnesänger“ entwickelt Robert Sochacki auch sein Lüdenscheider Tableau. Minnelieder sind eine ritualisierte Form der gesungenen Liebeslyrik des 12. und 13. Jahrhunderts und der Begriff „Minne“ aus dem Mittelhochdeutschen lässt sich mit „liebevolles Gedenken“ übersetzen. Obwohl die Minnelieder sich thematisch überwiegend auf die Verehrung von adligen Frauen beziehen, sind sie nicht Liebeslieder im engeren Sinn. Das Besondere an dieser Poesie sind ausgefeilte Reime, eine komplexe Bildersprache und der konzeptionelle Aufbau. So lässt sich auch Robert Sochackis Arbeitsweise lesen: Er verbindet kunsthistorisches Wissen und lokale Geschichten, ästhetische Besonderheiten und poetische Kunstformen, komplexe Technik und maßgeschneiderte Codierungen und seine ganz eigene Sichtweise zu vielschichtigen Bildgefügen, in dem der vorgefundene Ort die Hauptrolle spielt.

Robert Sochacki. SEE DJERBA Houmt Souk 2017. Photo Brahim Guedich (28)
Robert Sochacki. SEE DJERBA Houmt Souk 2017. Photo Brahim Guedich (26)
Robert Sochacki. SEE DJERBA Houmt Souk 2017. Photo Brahim Guedich (1)
Robert Sochacki. SEE DJERBA Houmt Souk 2017. Photo Brahim Guedich (4)
Robert Sochacki. SEE DJERBA Houmt Souk 2017. Photo Brahim Guedich (3)
Robert Sochacki. SEE DJERBA Houmt Souk 2017. Photo Brahim Guedich (21)
Robert Sochacki. SEE DJERBA Houmt Souk 2017. Photo Brahim Guedich (22)
Robert Sochacki. SEE DJERBA Houmt Souk 2017. Photo Brahim Guedich (8)
Robert Sochacki. SEE DJERBA Houmt Souk 2017. Photo Brahim Guedich (18)
Robert Sochacki. SEE DJERBA Houmt Souk 2017. Photo Brahim Guedich (19)
Robert Sochacki. SEE DJERBA Houmt Souk 2017. Photo Brahim Guedich (12)
Robert Sochacki. SEE DJERBA Houmt Souk 2017. Photo Brahim Guedich (11)
Robert Sochacki. SEE DJERBA Houmt Souk 2017. Photo Brahim Guedich (16)
Robert Sochacki. SEE DJERBA Houmt Souk 2017. Photo Brahim Guedich (20)
Robert Sochacki. SEE DJERBA Houmt Souk 2017. Photo Brahim Guedich (10)
Robert Sochacki. SEE DJERBA Houmt Souk 2017. Photo Brahim Guedich (13)
LichtRouten Luedenscheid 2013, Robert Sochacki, Photo Jennifer Braun
Robert Sochacki I EVI LICHTUNGEN Hildesheim 2018 l Foto Jennifer Braun (1)
Robert Sochacki I EVI LICHTUNGEN Hildesheim 2018 l Foto Jennifer Braun (5)
Robert Sochacki I EVI LICHTUNGEN Hildesheim 2018 l Foto Jennifer Braun (8)
Robert Sochacki I EVI LICHTUNGEN Hildesheim 2018 l Foto Jennifer Braun (11)
Robert Sochacki I EVI LICHTUNGEN Hildesheim 2018 l Foto Jennifer Braun (6)
Robert Sochacki I EVI LICHTUNGEN Hildesheim 2018 l Foto Jennifer Braun (3)
Robert Sochacki I EVI LICHTUNGEN Hildesheim 2018 l Foto Jennifer Braun (10)
Robert Sochacki I EVI LICHTUNGEN Hildesheim 2018 l Foto Jennifer Braun (2)
Robert Sochacki I EVI LICHTUNGEN Hildesheim 2018 l Foto Jennifer Braun (12)
Robert Sochacki I EVI LICHTUNGEN Hildesheim 2018 l Foto Jennifer Braun (9)

Die evangelische Erlöserkirche steht im Zentrum der Altstadt und wurde 1072 erstmals urkundlich erwähnt. Durch die Jahrhunderte wurde sie vielfach renoviert und modifiziert, allein der Turm der Erlöserkirche ist aus dem 11. Jahrhundert erhalten. Der Turmschaft wird durch 180 Eisenanker in der Fassade gesichert. Sie sind zugleich das einzige Gestaltungsmerkmal der Fassade. „Der Turm ist Zeuge der Stadtgeschichte und ich spiele mit seinem Gedächtnis“ _ sagte Robert Sochacki im Laufe der Vorbereitungen im Gespräch mit Tom Groll. Analog zu der Metapher des Gedächtnisses lässt sich auch seine Arbeitsweise erklären:  Das Gedächtnis ist ein komplexes System, in dem Informationen und Erfahrungen zu Erinnerungen werden. Sie bilden ein Netz aus Informationen, die durch Engramme vernetzt werden. Diese Verbindungswege können je nach Nutzung stärker und schwächer ausgebildet werden und verändern sich fortwährend. Analog dazu basieren die Montagen von Robert Sochacki auf dem verfügbaren Pool von Bildern und Informationen und zeigen diese als veränderliche _ in Farbe, Form und Format und in ihren Beziehungen zu einander.

Zu den LICHTROUTEN war Robert Sochacki schon einmal in Lüdenscheid. Seine Arbeit am Wiedenhof gehörte 2013 zu den drei beliebtesten Installationen der LICHTROUTEN (Link). Das große Format, die Farbigkeit und die fantastischen Bildwelten machten ihn zu einem Publikumsliebling. Jetzt ist er ein zweites Mal nach Lüdenscheid eingeladen, um eine neue, ort-spezifische Intervention zu realisieren. Dieses Mal nicht im Rahmen der LICHTROUTEN, sondern als Solitär zum festiven Auftakt des Stadtjubiläums.

(Referenz-Arbeiten 2013-2018 _ Photos: Jennifer Braun, Brahim Guedich. Text: Bettina Pelz. 5. März 2018)

28. bis 30. April 2018

Robert Sochacki entwickelt eine großformatige Architekturprojektion für die Erlöserkirche. Für seine Interventionen für Ausstellungen, Bühnen und öffentliche Räume verbindet Robert Sochacki Zeichnung und Malerei, Foto- und Videographie und Animation. Er entwickelt großformatige Wandbilder, die den Ort und seine Architektur zum Teil einer multimedialen Collage machen. >>

Ausgewählte Ausstellungen

2018 | Hildesheim (de), EVI LICHTUNGEN
2017 | Houmt El Souk (tn), SEE DJERBA
2015 | Katowice (pl), TAURON NOWA MUZYKA
2013 | Lima (pe), LA NOCHE EN BLANCO
Seit 1997 | Regelmässige Ausstellungstätigkeit, vor allem in Europa

Hintergrund

2018 | Danzig (pl), AKADEMIE DER BILDENDEN KÜNSTE, Promotion
1991-1997 | Danzig (pl), AKADEMIE DER BILDENDEN KÜNSTE, Studium der Bildenden Kunst
1971 | geboren in Danzig (pl)
MEHR

Links

sochacki.art.pl
Facebook